Shots Receive Awards at Conference Weekend

Manager Gary Waddock is pictured with a number of awards received at the Blue Square Premier Conference awards held at Blackpool. An audio interview with the boss will be available on The Shots Online on Monday evening

It was another successful evening for Aldershot Town at the weekend as the club received a number of awards at the Blue Square Premier Conference awards evening held in Blackpool.

Manager Gary Waddock celebrated his first full season in charge by collecting the Manager of the Year Award.

The 46 year old boss realised the dream of Aldershot supporters by leading the club into the Football League in addition to winning the Setanta Shield.

Talking to 'The Shots' afterwards the boss said, "It's great to collect the award but it is all about the club. Martin Kuhl played a massive part in the success .

"The players representing the club throughout the season were absolutely first class and a great credit to Aldershot Town FC."

Kirk Hudson marked his fine season by receiving the Young Player of the Season award whilst Scott Davies' late winner at Torquay United in March was voted the Goal of the Season in the Blue Square Premier.

Part of the reasons for the goal being awarded was the importance that it played at the time in Shots pursuit of the Blue Square trophy.

In addition to the club awards five Shots players were announced in the Blue Square Select XI for the season, Nikki Bull, Anthony Charles, Ben Harding, Lewis Chalmers and John Grant.

The evening was covered by Setanta Television and the awards evening will be shown on Friday 13th June at 17:00 on Setanta Sports1.

Shots Receive Awards at Conference Weekend

In additional news at the AGM the futures of several clubs were decided.

Subject to an FA appeal this coming Wednesday, it has been confirmed that Halifax Town (CVA problems) have been relegated from the Blue Square Premier, with Cambridge City (Ground Grading issue) falling from the South division, and Nuneaton Borough (Voluntary Liquidation) and Boston United (CVA problems) leaving the North division.

None of these four clubs had finished in the relegation placings in their respective decisions.

Due to the above matters Hucknall Town and Vauxhall Motors will now remain in the Northern section whilst Dorchester Town will remain the South.

Redditch United, who had been earmarked for a stint in the Blue Square South (after four Northern clubs were demoted from the BSP) have now been re-instated in the North. Worcester City, another side moved from North to South, will remain in the South division.

Subject to the FA appeal the Blue Square Premier line-up will consist of the following teams for season 2008/09-

Altrincham (reprieved) , Barrow, Burton Albion, Cambridge United, Crawley Town, Eastbourne Borough
Ebbsfleet United, Forest Green Rovers, Grays Athletic, Histon, Kettering Town, Kidderminster Harriers
Lewes, Mansfield Town, Northwich Victoria, Oxford United, Rushden & Diamonds, Salisbury City,
Stevenage Borough, Torquay United, Weymouth, Wrexham, Woking, York City

- The fixture list for the 2008/09 Football League season will be made available on Monday 16 June whilst the Football League Cup First Round draw will be made this coming Friday (13 June).

Picture supplied by Gordon Macey